Fines/Costs & payments

Per Michigan Court Rule 1.110:
 "Fines, costs, and other financial obligations imposed by the court must be paid at the time of assessment, except when the court allows otherwise, for good cause shown."

Making Payments

Payments can be made at the 40th District Court building located at:
27701 Jefferson Ave.
St. Clair Shores, Mi 48081
Ph: 586-445-5280
Fax: 586-774-5430
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Please note: When the court is closed to the public, a payment kiosk and drop box are available 24/7 (to pay most tickets). They are installed near the front entrance of the court building.

Online Payments

Click HERE to use ALLPAID

Telephone Payments


The 24-hour telephone number is 866-211-0099, pay location code 6008.  

To determine the points for violations, visit the Michigan Secretary of State website or CLICK HERE FOR THE LINK

Operators License  Fine
Expired license $165
Fail to change address on license $100
Fail to comply with restrictions $155
No cycle endorsement $165
No license on person - dismissed with proof before court date $200

Speeding Violations - City Limits Fine
1-5 MPH over speed limit $120
6-10 MPH over speed limit $135
11-15 MPH over speed limit $160
16-20 MPH over speed limit $185
21-25 MPH over speed limit $215
Speed too fast for conditions $120
Violation of basic speed law $120
26 MPH and over ($215 plus $6 for each MPH over 26 MPH) To be determined*

Speeding Violations - Expressway Fine
1-5 MPH over speed limit $120
6-10 MPH over speed limit $135
11-15 MPH over speed limit $160
16-20 MPH over speed limit $185
21-25 MPH over speed limit $215
26 MPH and over ($215 plus $6 for each MPH over 26 MPH) To be determined*

Parking Violations Fine
3 a.m. - 5 a.m. parking $20
Parked-Blocking $25
Commercial vehicle parked on residential street $75
Fire route violation $100
Handicapped parking $150
Offer for sale on commercial property $95
Parked interfering with traffic $50

Defective Equipment Fine
Defective brakes or steering $175
Defective equipment - dismissed if repaired before court date $125

License Plate & Registration Violations Fine
Abandoned vehicle $105
Expired license plates $105
Improperly displayed plates $110
Improper plates $200
No plates on vehicle or trailer $200
No registration on person - dismissed w/ proof by court date $75
Unregistered vehicle on roadway $200

Miscellaneous Fine
Alcohol in park / public $155
Barking dog $175
Dog at large $155
Hitchhiking $140
Inadequate child restraint $85
Littering $150
Loitering $130
No license on dog $155
No seat belt - driver / passenger $70
Nuisance violation - loud music $150
Open intoxicants 21 years and over $175
Open intoxicants Under 21 years Court Only
Park or school after dark $145
Possession of fireworks $250
Pushing snow in street Court Only
Trespassing $175
 Walking in roadway
$60